Books, Law school

On summer break, books and pre-law school jitters

June events: San Beda law school enrollment and freshman orientation, plus my graduation rites at UP. Why hello there, my almost-over summer vacation/freedom.

How are you feeling, Tanya?

Everything just feels incredibly scary and exciting at the same time. It feels like every decision I make from this point onwards, including potential screw-ups and successes, will decide my entire life’s fate. Four years from now, I will look back to this moment either with remorse or fulfillment.

Honestly, I am afraid of wasting my parents’ sacrifices more than anything. I know how expensive law school is and although both of them appear to be so casual with the school fees, I know for a fact that we are not rich enough to be spending n pesos every semester just to put me into a good law school. My mom insists that “magagawan nalang yan ng paraan” and “God will provide” but I’ve always been the type to avoid causing people grief, specially my parents, which is also the very reason why I fear failing to meet nanay and tatay’s expectations.

Then there’s excitement – excitement over the fact that I am granted a second chance to make things right, perhaps better. During my undergrad degree at the university, there were quite some instances when I felt like I could have done things differently in terms of my grades, befriending (the right) people and most especially my spiritual life. While UP taught me to be critical and open-minded towards a lot of stuff, including religion, I am guilty and embarrassed how quick I settled with agnosticism just because it’s personally easier to think and act that way. Reason and religion does not easily coincide, so trusting only what your senses can fathom seems a logical alternative. At least that is how I saw it before.

This blog post turned out to be longer than I expected it to be so I’m ending it with a short reading list. Below is a list of the books I’ve read (or in some cases, re-read) over the summer. I’m not sure if I am qualified to write a proper critique on these books and so should I write one, I’ll just save it for another post. The diversity in this selection is quite high, but I’d say I enjoyed reading 11 Minutes, Sputnik Sweetheart, and This is How You Lose Her the most. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children holds a special spot too, considering how the bizarre photographs used in the story are actually existing photo collection from various people, along with The Marriage Plot for including a substantial discussion on the humanities and for being written in an after-college life context.

• 11 Minutes, Paulo Coelho
• Dance, Dance, Dance, Haruki Murakami
• Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs
• Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List, David Levithan & Rachel Cohn
• Love Story, Erich Segal
• Sputnik Sweetheart, Haruki Murakami
• The Curious Incident of the Dog in Nighttime, Mark Haddon
• The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini
• The Marriage Plot, Jeffrey Eugenides
• The Little Prince, Antoine de St. Exupery
• The Wind-up Bird Chronicle, Haruki Murakami
• Thirteen Reasons Why, Jay Asher
• This is How you Lose Her, Junot Diaz

Standard

Leave a Reply

